Category: Science & Technology, Engineering, Dams
Historical Items Showing 3 of 146 View All
Contributed by: Maine Historical Society
Date: circa 1920
Location: T3 R11 WELS
Contributed by: Skowhegan History House
Media: Photographic print
In 1893, F.C. Whitehouse of Topsham, who owned paper mills in Topsham and Lisbon Falls, began construction of a third mill on the eastern banks of the Androscoggin River five miles north of Topsham. First, he had to build a dam to harness the river's power.