Letter to Elizabeth Mounfort from a friend in Trinidad, Cuba, July 4, 1847

Contributed by Maine Historical Society


A woman identified as "Maria" living in Trinidad, Cuba, wrote to abolitionist and member of the Maine Anti-Slavery Society, Elizabeth Mountfort of Portland, about the brutality of slave labor in the sugar cane fields. Maria told of,
"An American lady speaking of the warmth of the weather in the summer season, said, 'I should like to spend some time in the country, were it not for the shrieks of the slaves, which you hear constantly, some one or another, being nearly all the time at the whipping post.'"

Later Maria discussed her hopes of the abolishment of slavery,
"I pray it may not be long ere freedom's standard shall be unfurled to the breeze, that will waft the glad sound of emancipation to every people and o'er every land, where the iron yoke is known."

View/Add Comments


Item has a transcription view a full transcription of the letter

About This Item

  • Title: Letter to Elizabeth Mounfort from a friend in Trinidad, Cuba, July 4, 1847
  • Creation Date: 1847-07-04
  • Subject Date: 1847-07-04
  • Locations:
    • Trinidad, Cuba
    • Portland, Cumberland County, ME
  • Media: Ink on paper
  • Local Code: Coll. 14, Box 1/6
  • Collection: Portland Anti-Slavery Society records
  • Object Type: Text

Cross Reference Searches

Standardized Subject Headings


Other Keywords

For more information about this item, contact:

Maine Historical Society
485 Congress Street, Portland, ME 04101
(207) 774-1822 x230

Use of this Item is not restricted by copyright and/or related rights, but the holding organization is contractually obligated to limit use. For more information, please contact the contributing organization. However, watermarked Maine Memory Network images may be used for educational purposes.

How to cite content on this site

Please post your comment below to share with others. If you'd like to privately share a comment or correction with MMN staff, please send us a message with this link.