Class of 1890, Westbrook Seminary, 1890

Contributed by Abplanalp Library, UNE


Members of the Westbrook Seminary Class of 1890 include: Hervey Hastings Hoyt (Peabody, Kansas), Minnie Augusta Rankin (East Hiram) Abbie Frances Holding (Deering) , John Murray Quinby (Augusta), Sewell Baker Kilburn (Portland), Helen Louise Flint (East Hiram), Fred Strorer Walker (Westbrook), Frank Wilson Lamb (Cumberland Mills), Virgil Louis Leighton (W. Falmouth), Lucy Edna Greenlaw (Cumberland Mills), Lillian May Weeks (Westbrook), Clara Jordon Jones (Deering), Charles Storer Knight (Deering), Ora Gates, and Mae Florence Thayer (Portland).

Westbrook Seminary was founded in 1831 and began in a section of Westbrook that became Deering and was later annexed to Portland. In the 20th century, the institution moved from coeducational seminary to girls' school, to junior college for women, to college, and in 1996 became part of the University of New England.

View/Add Comments

About This Item

  • Title: Class of 1890, Westbrook Seminary, 1890
  • Creation Date: 1890
  • Subject Date: 1890
  • Location: Portland, Cumberland County, ME
  • Media: Ink on paper
  • Local Code: Photos: Class of 1890
  • Collection: Westbrook College History Collection
  • Object Type: Image

Cross Reference Searches

Standardized Subject Headings


For more information about this item, contact:

Abplanalp Library, UNE
716 Stevens Avenue, Portland, ME 04103
(207) 221-4323

Use of this Item is not restricted by copyright and/or related rights, but the holding organization is contractually obligated to limit use. For more information, please contact the contributing organization. However, watermarked Maine Memory Network images may be used for educational purposes.

How to cite content on this site

Please post your comment below to share with others. If you'd like to privately share a comment or correction with MMN staff, please send us a message with this link.