Mayors of Portland, ca. 1877

Contributed by Maine Historical Society

Mayors of Portland, ca. 1877

Purchase a reproduction of this item on


An artistic rendering of Portland mayors through 1876 from Edward Elwell's "Portland and Vicinity: with a Sketch of Old Orchard Beach and other Maine Resorts" first published in 1881 by Loring, Short and Harmon. This mayoral list stops with Francis Fessenden, who served for one term during 1876 and 1877.

The first mayor, Andrew L. Emerson, died in office and was replaced by Jonathan Dow. John Anderson served twice, once in 1833 and again in 1842. Neal Dow also served two non-sequential terms in 1851-52 and again in 1855-56, as did James Calhoon serving in 1849-50 and 1853-54. Each is only pictured once, despite serving more than one non-consecutive term.

Prior to 1832, the City of Portland was designated a town, and therefore didnot elect or appoint a mayor.

View/Add Comments

About This Item

  • Title: Mayors of Portland, ca. 1877
  • Creation Date: circa 1877
  • Subject Date: circa 1877
  • Town: Portland
  • County: Cumberland
  • State: ME
  • Media: Ink on paper
  • Local Code: QJ M P837.13 1881
  • Object Type: Image

Cross Reference Searches

Standardized Subject Headings


Other Keywords

For more information about this item, contact:

Maine Historical Society
485 Congress Street, Portland, ME 04101
(207) 774-1822 x230

Use of this Item is not restricted by copyright and/or related rights, but the holding organization is contractually obligated to limit use. For more information, please contact the contributing organization. However, watermarked Maine Memory Network images may be used for educational purposes.

Please post your comment below to share with others. If you'd like to privately share a comment or correction with MMN staff, please use this form.