Main Street, Limerick, ca. 1915Item 25738 info
Penobscot Marine Museum
Commercial and residential properties were comfortably integrated along Limerick’s picturesque tree-lined Main Street.
At the left is the hardware and jewelry store opened by F.H. Townsend in 1892 and carried on after 1911 by his wife as a men’s clothing and shoe business.
Beyond the Townsend building is the Limerick House, which served as an inn for decades.
This photograph captures the rural village quality of Limerick, the center of an agricultural and manufacturing area of York County.
The 19th century meets the 20th as a farmer leads his ox cart down the dirt street while the photographer’s automobile is parked discreetly at the right.