Maine Memory Network
Maine's Online Museum

Login · My Account · Show Album



Preserve America: History Teacher of the Year Award

The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History is seeking nominations for the annual $10,000 Preserve America History Teacher of the Year Award, given to the best middle or high school history teacher in the United States. The Preserve America History Teacher of the Year is chosen from outstanding history teachers in each state, district, and U.S. territory. The award is sponsored by the Gilder Lehrman Institute, Preserve America, and HISTORYâ„¢ (the History Channel).

One winner will be chosen from each of the fifty states, the District of Columbia, Department of Defense Schools, and U.S. Territories. State winners receive $1,000 and an archive of books and other resources for their school. Each winner is honored in a ceremony in his or her home state.

In 2010, the Gilder Lehrman Institute will honor a middle or high school teacher of grades seven through twelve. K-6 teachers are honored every other year.

Read the full press release here.

The nomination deadline is March 15, 2010.