Maine Memory Network
Maine's Online Museum

Login · My Account · Show Album



West Oxford Agricultural Society fair, ca. 1880

Click on the image to zoom. Click and drag your mouse over the image to move it left or right. Use the small navigation window to select the area you wish to zoom on.

Item 6550 detail enlarge send e-card Share this on Facebook Share this on Twitter add to album


The photograph shows a parade at the track and the judge's stand at the "old" Fryeburg Fair, prior to 1885.

Peleg Wadsworth, Samuel Stickney, E.L. Osgood and John W. Dana, who formed the West Oxford Agricultural Society, organized the fair in 1851.

For its first seven years, the fair rotated between Fryeburg, Brownfield, Porter, Denmark and Lovell.

On Oct. 6, 1885 the Society bought the present-day Fryeburg Fairgrounds and since then, the fair has been held in Fryeburg.

Go back

Please post your comment below to share with others. If you'd like to privately share a comment or correction with MMN staff, please use this form.