Maine Memory Network
Maine's Online Museum

Login · My Account · Show Album



Class of 1890, Westbrook Seminary

Click on the image to zoom. Click and drag your mouse over the image to move it left or right. Use the small navigation window to select the area you wish to zoom on.

Item 29171 detail enlarge send e-card Share this on Facebook Share this on Twitter add to album


Members of the Westbrook Seminary Class of 1890 include: Hervey Hastings Hoyt (Peabody, Kansas), Minnie Augusta Rankin (East Hiram) Abbie Frances Holding (Deering) , John Murray Quinby (Augusta), Sewell Baker Kilburn (Portland), Helen Louise Flint (East Hiram), Fred Strorer Walker (Westbrook), Frank Wilson Lamb (Cumberland Mills), Virgil Louis Leighton (W. Falmouth), Lucy Edna Greenlaw (Cumberland Mills), Lillian May Weeks (Westbrook), Clara Jordon Jones (Deering), Charles Storer Knight (Deering), Ora Gates, and Mae Florence Thayer (Portland).

Westbrook Seminary was founded in 1831 and began in a section of Westbrook that became Deering and was later annexed to Portland. In the 20th century, the institution moved from coeducational seminary to girls' school, to junior college for women, to college, and in 1996 became part of the University of New England.

Go back

Please post your comment below to share with others. If you'd like to privately share a comment or correction with MMN staff, please use this form.