Bingham Village from Old Hill, circa 1920
Old Hill is located in the north end of Bingham Village, on the east side of Main Street. It was also known as Flagstaff Hill because for many years an American flag was flown from a tall staff at its summit. Murray Street runs east to west in this photograph, with the back of S. J. Whitney's Hardware Store (later used by the S.D. Warren Co.) visible near the center of the photograph. The old fire station is nestled among the trees to the left on the south side of Murray Street. It is the dark building with the short tower at the back. The tall building visible in the distance to the left, is the Fraternity Hall, completed around 1904. Smoke rises from the mill stack along the Kennebec River, where there is a large pile of logs awaiting processing.